Dear Winter,

Bright eyed sig edit

Dear Winter,

It’s that blissful time of year again where no one ever leaves their house and we all get vitamin D deficiency from lack of sunlight. It feels like it takes a centuryΒ for the mornings to heat up and the amount of ice related broken bones sky rocket. Yes, you’re here, well and truly. This time of year I always find myself doing the same things as last season. Here are the things that never fail every time you come around.

For three months I only use one side of my bed. Fear of hypothermia will drive a person to do crazy things. However, my plugs on one side won’t reach so the life-saving electric blanket will only work on one side. I load myself up with blankets and hope to make it through. The other side of my bed remains as cold as Antarctica and unloved for the winter months.

My tea intake increases by around 60 cups a day. That may be an exaggeration of sorts but I swear I drink so much tea that I become a liquid myself. This ranges from green tea to tea with the weirdest flavour combinations. For example, strawberry pavlova tea and orange and lime tea. This only occurs when you’re here and usually ends with me lying on the ground because I over indulged in raspberry and mint.

My fluffy sweater collection tends to go through the roof. Even though I only have enough money for a cup of soup, I always find a way to buy one more. My favourites are the knits but isn’t limited to jackets and oversized sweatshirts. Even though being inside by the fire can make me sweat profusely, I will never take them off. Sometimes I wish I could wear them all at once.

Vitamin D deficiency usually shines through this time of year as I can’t be bothered losing my toes to go outside. The lack of sunshine brings out hot food cravings and irritable personalities not to mention a good pale sheen. Regardless of the amount of odd sunny days it never seems enough to cure the deficiency.

The joy of winter every year brings out my much loved traditions and conditions but the joy always falls short at the unfulfilled promise of snow. How hard is it to produce some beautiful flecks of icy-ness? Always holding out the hope but mostly disappointed. However, the joy of my traditions never cease to make me happy.
Thank you to the colder months for giving me the chance to dress fluffy and drink tea.

Yours, with appreciation,
Sigourney

Leave a Reply

