What I Eat In A Day (Vegan)

Hello reader,

I’m about to throw at you the very delicious, incredibly simple, and cruelty free (aka vegan) food that I ate today. I will also let you in on the recipes of these foods if I can (some are top secret.)

My mornings always start with a big drink of water. After being asleep and not drinking for eight hours its important to give your body the happy wake up that it needs and get it hydrated. It helps to kick start your metabolism and get your stomach and digestive system ready for food. I keep a water bottle beside my bed so I often sip away while I’ll scroll through social media.


BREAKFAST (10:30)

For the past year I’ve been making smoothies for breakfast at least three or four times a week. They are my kick start and morning energy secret. They are an excellent, healthy alternative for breakfast or snacks throughout the day. They help to keep you hydrated and the natural sugars from the fruit curb those cravings.

Here is my not-so-secret recipe

Ingredients:

– 1 Ripe banana

– 1/4C of frozen berries

– Few chunks of frozen watermelon (optional)

– 1/4C of oats (Oats help to keep you full throughout the morning)

– 2 TB of chia seeds (Chia seeds contain omega 3 and protein, easy way to get your Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β nutrients when on a vegan lifestyle)

– Coconut water (a natural electrolyte)

IMG_1763.JPG

 

Place all ingredients into a blender and blend until smooth.

IMG_1814.JPG

 

LUNCH (1:00)

Today I had a leftover samosa that the Hare Krishna people sell at the hospital where mum works. I heated that up in the oven and added leftover salad from the night before as well as some fresh spring rolls I’d made yesterday. This was the perfect lunch cause I needed some vegetables but also wanted something warm for the winter day.

IMG_1821

This lunch is on a small bread plate. I tend to eat most things off smaller plates now because as a society we overeat a lot. This way I can pack my plate full and it looks like I’m having a big lunch when in reality it’s reasonable sized. As long as I’m eating nutrient packed foods then I don’t need to crush in a thousand fries in one sitting.

 

SNACK (4:00)

Around four o’clock I seem to always want something sugary. It’s because my body has burnt through and digested my lunch and now my sugar levels are starting to drop. I used to reach for chips or biscuits to give me an instant sugar lift,that would drop quickly, but now I go for something that will satisfy me through until dinner.

Today I made a pear, lemon and lime smoothie to give me aΒ natural sugar lift. It’s super delicious and smooth and the lemon-lime combination makes it taste sweeter than it really is.

RECIPE:

2 whole, ripe pears

Flesh of 1/2 a lemon

Juice of 1/2 a lemon

1 whole lime

Coconut Water

Handful of ice

Blend all ingredients until smooth. Add extra lemon or lime if you like it more sour. I was also feeling a little hungry so I ate another spring roll too.

 

IMG_1827

At about 5:30 I decided I wanted to use some of our frozen bananas that were clogging up the freezer so I made some banana chocolate muffins. These muffins turned out so delicious and were super easy to make. Here’s the link to the recipe I used:Β RECIPE

IMG_1850

DINNER (8:00)

For dinner my sister and her husband cooked a potato bake for the family and were super considerate to make a vegan one for me. It only required substituting milk for almond milk and leaving off the cheese on the top. We added a few veggies and some garlic bread too. This was the perfect dinner to end a cold winters day. I wasn’t feeling extremely hungry so I didn’t eat too much.

13521157_1194311983947152_716881611_n

Before bed, I usually have a cup of green tea to keep my body burning fat and flushing out toxins over night.

Although not as exciting as usual, this was all of the food I ate in a day. I hope this gave you insight to how someone can eat vegan for a day without it being too difficult. It doesn’t have to cost the earth to enjoy good food, literally.

On that note, goodnight reader.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

